Niki Carey Jan 2024



Gus is so knowledgeable! If you’re thinking about setting up a bee hive or just want to know more about these fascinating creatures, this is the workshop for you! Thank you Gus!

Patricia Cabrera Nov 2023



Very informative and fascinating. I never knew there was so much to learn about bees. I feel more confident moving ahead with my beekeeping journey. Would recommend to anyone wanting g learn about bees and beekeeping.

Amanda Tang Sep 2023



My friends and I wanted to do an experience that was different and pretty cool which is why we chose this class/experience. Gus is extremely knowledgeable about bees and honey and we were so lucky to have him share this with us. We have learnt so much and the hands on experience was exciting and fun. We will be back for more of the delicious honey

Gardening class review by Amanda Tang - Sydney

Chris Adams Apr 2023



Gus was a great teacher - very organized, gave clear information and was very passionate on the subject. If you are interested in starting beekeeping definitely would recommend this course

Eduard Lugovoy Feb 2023



Excellent class by Gus, well structured and logically built as a dialog motivating you to ask questions and rather understand how it all works and why. Highly recommended If you're to learn about the beekeeping, this class is one stop shop not only for beginners but for further learning and support.

Michelle Mawbey Dec 2022



An awesome day learning about the bees and honey. Gus is so knowledgeable and his passion is infectious. Do you know what honey is? Bet you’d be surprised- I recommend this course if you are interested to know

Urban Beekeeping Workshop for Beginners review by Michelle Mawbey - Sydney

Vanessa Auditore Nov 2022



Gus is very knowledgeable and passionate about all things bees. Very informative and really loved the practical component and putting some of the knowledge to use on the day.

Highly recommended. Thank you

Urban Beekeeping Workshop for Beginners review by Vanessa Auditore - Sydney

Alison Mitrevski May 2022



super interesting and learned heaps! Gus' passion for bees was great to see and very contagious!

John McCabe Mar 2022



I really enjoyed the session today with Gus. He has a methodical way of sharing his knowledge and an easy style with the group.
I learned a lot, although I appreciate that it just the tip of the iceberg, but more importantly Gus has made me even more motivated to learn so much more. I would definitely recommend this course.

Michael Brighton-Hall Mar 2022



Incredibly thorough information, and happy to answer all our questions.
Loved having a teacher (Gus) that now only knew his stuff, but wanted to make sure we understood the 'why' as well as the 'how'.
Would thoroughly recommend to anyone who is leaping into the world of urban beekeeping.

Urban Beekeeping Workshop for Beginners review by Michael Brighton-Hall - Sydney

Stephen Ong Feb 2022



An excellent course.
Informative, educational with friendly staff.
Highly recommended.

Robert Donsante Feb 2022



I found Gus to have a wealth of knowledge and experience that he happily shared in a very engaging and informative way. Unfortunately the rainy day meant that we weren’t able to look inside the workings of one of his hives which he promptly offered for another weekend. He also demonstrated a number of pieces of equipment and parts of hives including the difference in quality, price and application using examples of his own experience which allowed me to understand the practical aspect and consideration of beekeeping. I found Gus to be passionate who truly cared about bees and their industry and would recommend him wholeheartedly to anyone looking to get a solid and practical understanding and or commencement in their beekeeping journey. Robert

John Moser Jan 2022



Was a very pleasant experience a very knowledgeable day with a calm atmosphere, very comfortable learning got a lot from this course would recommend it too any one wanting to get Ito bee keeping

Atsushi Kobayashi Jan 2022



Great "getting started"course. 5 hours learning had gone past so quickly as I enjoyed so much. The course contents are so helpful to understand what I need to know to start bee keeping in my backyard. I strongly recommend this course if you are absolutely beginner and are interested in bee keeping.

Mary Claassens Jan 2022



Ever wondered why bees ‘dance’ and how to read the ‘code’? How to tell the difference between a bee and a wasp? Is it really OK to ‘rob’ honey from a hive? How long do bees live? Gus answers all these questions and many more in an engaging, informative, and practical way. In the afternoon we donned beekeeping PPE and went outside to stand amongst Gus’s bee hives. The bees flew around us, not worried or distressed by our presence. Gus showed us how to open a hive and lift out a honey-laden frame, we were each given the opportunity to lift a frame out and examine it. Full frames are surprisingly heavy. We gently closed the hive and moved back to the house, the bees continued as if we hadn’t intruded at all. After a short debrief the workshop finished. We left, blissed out on bees and information overload while wanting to learn more about these truly awe-inspiring creatures. Thank you, Gus.

Luke Maher Jan 2022



The bee keeping course with Gus was a great introduction to bee keeping.

Gus prided himself on delivering both the how and why of bee keeping. With most other one-day bee keeping courses focusing on how to keep bees, Gus offered additional knowledge and experience on why bees do what they do and why keeping bees is a benefit to you and your community.

Gus acknowledged that there was much more to bee keeping than can be covered in a one-day workshop, new knowledge to be gained through experience and/or as part of mentoring services Gus can provide to students who decide to take on the responsibility of keeping bees.

Thanks

Luke

Samantha Roberts Dec 2021



Gus is a wealth of knowledge and goes into depth explaining which is great. Very hospitable and would highly recommend this for anyone looking to get into Beekeeping!

Suellen Lembke Nov 2021



Gus was extremely knowledgeable and engaging explaining “why” before “what”. He scaffolded the session with slides and had all the equipment one might need available for us to see/touch and question. The time went quickly. The pizza tea/coffee, water and mints were a lovely and welcome inclusion. Unfortunately, the weather precluded an inspection of the hives but we will reconvene to do this. Gus also offered his support going forward with any aspect of practical bee-keeping that we are finding challenging.

Glenn Newling Jun 2021



Great workshop. Gus is highly knowledgeable drawing from his experience; successes and failures. Having only 2 in the class made for a relaxed and open situation and enabled lots of questions without feeling like you might be slowing the pace down. Due to the cold and wet weather, the practical component couldn't be covered on the day but Gus will be inviting us back on another day to take part in the practical. Gus provided some mentos, water and pizza to keep us going. Being a cold day, the pizza was well received. My only thought at the time and am only saying this because it was cold, I should have brought a thermas of coffee or hot tea on the day. I was dying for a coffee. We covered all aspects of beekeeping. Gus had a carefully thought out powerpoint discussion but we could deviate at any time. Gus' background as an engineer provided added worth as he could detail the virtues of the tools and equipment. All in all, great day.

Michaela Byers Jun 2021



The theory was very interesting and Gus was very engaging. It was too bad that the weather was bad so we didn't get to open a hive. Will get the opportunity next month.
V48I01Z33L 34c052b7f77f35dccea660a6ce51910d production AU sydney