James's reviews


Jan 2020

Leather Craft Workshop: Make a Custom Belt


The class was great and Haylee was an amazing teacher.

Simple to understand instructions and a great range of tools and materials.

It was so nice to leave the class with a belt that I had made and there was even enough time to make a keyring.

Leather Craft Workshop: Make a Custom Belt review by James Dalton

Jun 2021

Learn Zentangle® Art


Niki was amazing, and is just so personable. Her passion for Zentangle really just shines through. It was great going through it step by step with her. She gave me the history of Zentangle, taught me some techniques then pointed me in the right direction for further learning and how to top up with supplies.

I couldn’t think of a better way to spend a Monday evening.

I can already feel an addiction brewing. After the class my wife looked at my work and wants to give it a go too.

Thank you again Niki for running the class even though it was only me tonight.

Learn Zentangle® Art review by James Dalton

Jul 2021

Kokedama Making at Home


Hayley was such an amazing teacher! I thoroughly enjoyed this class. So much so that I want to do it again! She was incredibly attentive and very encouraging. Was open to any and all questions and gave us all lots of information.
I left the class on a high and feeling like I could go and make 100 kokedamas!

It is so clear from the onset that Hayley is passionate about what she does. Thank you for such a wonderful afternoon.

Kokedama workshop review by James Dalton

Jul 2021

Learn Punch Needle at Home


Rebecca Was absolutely amazing. The kit came with everything I needed for the project and she talked me through it all.

Rebecca Is clearly passionate about her creative work and it shines through in her wonderful teaching style.

I’m sad that she’s in Sydney and I can only do online classes by Made By Me. But I’ll book into any online class to share in a project with Rebecca, even if it’s not something I would usually gravitate to because her passion is infectious. (Not the best word to be using in this current Covid climate, I know) but it really is. I did punch needling out of curiosity and to have an experience of something new, I didn’t expect to love it.

If you see a bearded man punch needling at traffic lights, on the train, at a restaurant or at the pub…. It’ll probably be me.

Learn Punch Needle at Home review by James Dalton

Aug 2021

Screen Print Your Own Design


This is my favorite class so far.

Carizza Was absolutely brilliant from the first email where I asked about using my own design before booking the class, through to the end of the session when I was asking her a thousand questions about where to purchase supplies and what is and isn’t possible to do with screen printing.

The products sent were top quality, well packaged and arrived in plenty of time.

Carizza is very knowledgeable and is clearly passionate about what she teaches.

She is a very patient and encouraging teacher and I finished the class feeling so energised and excited. I want to print on everything now

Thank you Carizza for introducing me to my new creative outlet.

Textiles workshop review by James Dalton Sydney

Aug 2021

Anyone Can do Calligraphy


Vanessa is such a brilliant teacher. She went nice and slow and broke everything down into simple steps. She kept checking in to see how we were going and looking at our progress. She is very encouraging of everybody. I will be taking another class run by Vanessa for sure. I found the process of writing the letters out quite relaxing and will be using this to relax in the evenings.

Anyone Can do Calligraphy review by James Dalton Sydney

Aug 2021

Learn the Art of Chai at Home


It was such a pleasure to explore the origins of chai with a leading chai expert like Uppma Virdi from Chai Walli. The Art of Chai class was the most wonderful experience to deepen my own understanding of authentic masala chai. Uppma guided us through the varieties and flavours of chai, its history and culture, which Indian herbs and spices are traditionally used as well as their uses in Ayurvedic culture, and how to blend and brew the perfect cup (in the most perfect chai saucepan!). The most interesting part of the class was hearing Uppma talk about the creation of Chai Walli, the beginnings of the 'Chai Crusaders' movement against bad chai.

Uppma is just an amazing being and her passion and knowledge of spices is second to none.

I’ve been making and drinking chai for decades, and never really knew how to brew it to perfection. Now that I do, I can’t stop drinking it. It’s not even been three days and I’ve finished two whole packets!

Do yourself a favour and take this course. Buy the extra chai packets, because you will need them. The saucepan is a must also.

Thank you again Uppma for an amazing afternoon and for imparting all of your knowledge.

Learn the Art of Chai at Home review by James Dalton

Aug 2021

DIY Candle and Soap Making for Beginners


I had such a great morning with Shiree learning how to make candles and soap. Shiree Was so knowledgeable and very happy to answer all of our questions. She shared her tips and tricks so we can produce professional looking products on our first go.

It was great to learn about the different ingredients and how to use them. I left feeling confident to go ahead and make more in my own time. I was so impressed with the candles and soap I made on the day.

My kit arrived in the mail with ample time, it was well packed and the directions were exceptionally simple. It was all perfect.

Thank you again Shiree. I wouldn’t hesitate to do another class with you if you choose to add more.

DIY Candle and Soap Making for Beginners review by James Dalton

Aug 2021

DIY Marbled Mug Craft Box / Kit with Crystals


This was such a great class. We really enjoyed getting our hands into the clay. It was great being able to choose our own colours and what we wanted to make.

We have since done more pottery and still loving it.

DIY Marbled Mug Craft Box / Kit with Crystals review by James Dalton

Aug 2021

The Art of Making Gnocchi


I enjoyed this gnocchi making class. Simple instructions were send prior to the class along with a list of required ingredients. Was great to learn how to make them properly.

The Art of Making Gnocchi review by James Dalton

Sep 2021

Life Hacks class


Looking forward to trying out these shrinkies with the kids. A nice simple craft to enjoy together.

DIY Shrinkable Plastic Craft review by James Dalton Sydney

Sep 2021

DIY Kokedama Making at Home


My wife took the class on my behalf as I had a headache and she absolutely loved it. Sounds like she had a blast, I’m sorry I missed it, but looking forward to trying it out for myself.

Loved everything about the kokedama course. Jemina was so friendly and accommodating. Due to Aust post delays and the fact that we live not far from each other, Jemina dropped my kit off to me so that I would have it in time. The class was fun, interactive and jemina's delivery was very easy to follow, even on Zoom. I am so happy with my kokedama and would recommend this class for anyone. I look forward to attending another of Jemina's classes in the future. - Nik

DIY Kokedama Making at Home review by James Dalton

Sep 2021

Make DIY Zero-waste Deodorant


I really enjoyed this class. I’ve found it difficult to find a decent deodorant. I love that it’s completely customisable and vegan. The package arrived within days of ordering and I’m so stoked that there is enough of the consumables to make several batches of deodorant.

Class was so easy to follow and Lily was absolutely delightful and very knowledgeable.

Skincare and Haircare workshop review by James Dalton

Oct 2021

DIY Kokedama Making at Home


Jem was so wonderful. It was a cross between a kokedama class and a stand up comedy session.

I just love her sense of humour and her unique way of making kokedamas that will last for years to come.

So much fun to be had! I will be doing more of Jem’s classes for sure.

Thank you for an amazing afternoon of pyjamas, wine and laughs.

DIY Kokedama Making at Home review by James Dalton

Oct 2021

DIY Vegan Solid Shampoo


Lily from Mademoiselle Organic is just simply wonderful. This is the second class I’ve done with her. I love how simple she makes things. She really breaks things down for you and puts all the instructions into the Zoom chat incase you miss something. She then quickly follows up with an email afterwards with the complete instructions, tips and tricks. Lily is always happy to help with any follow up questions after the class has ended too.

Lily is very knowledgeable and passionate about great quality skincare.

Skincare and Haircare workshop review by James Dalton

Nov 2021

Silver Spinning Ring Workshop


I had a wonderful afternoon making a ring for my wife with HeeCho showing me the way.

I was so impressed that she still ran the class with only me in it. It was great having that one on one instruction.

HeeCho is very knowledgeable and passionate about jewellery making and clearly explained each step as we went along.

I’m so stoked with how the ring turned out.

The studio was lovely and well equiped. I will be back for another class for sure.

Jewellery Making workshop review by James Dalton

Nov 2021

Painting class


Enjoyed the watercolour class and was nice to learn some new techniques and the use of masking fluid

Beginner's DIY Watercolour Christmas Cards review by James Dalton

Nov 2021

Intensive Screen Printing Workshop


Loved, loved, loved this course. Sarah was so knowledgeable and was able to answer all of my questions. Her expert guidance led to me leaving with some amazing prints!

I loved that Sarah was happy for me to try different things while she was teaching the basics, things like printing on a waffle shirt and trying offset printing. Both of which, turned out amazing

Do yourself a favour and book into this workshop! Such a great workspace there in Coburg too.

Intensive Screen Printing Workshop review by James Dalton

Nov 2021

Create Zentangle® Stacked Rocks


Another amazing glass by Niki.

Niki has such a great laid back teaching style. I loved learning new techniques and ways to Zentangle. It was like a 2 hour meditation.

Create Zentangle® Stacked Rocks review by James Dalton

Nov 2021

Learn Plant Parenthood 101


This was a great starter class for being a plant parent. I feel more confident already.

Gardening workshop review by James Dalton

Dec 2021

Woodworking Class: Small Shaker Bentwood Boxes


I had such an amazing day at Melbourne Guild of Fine Woodworking. In fact, I booked in for three more classes next year!

Alastair and Jacqueline made us all feel right at home. The pace of the class was perfect. Those that knew what they were doing could go ahead and those that needed more assistance were given one on one time and not at all rushed.

Woodworking Class: Small Shaker Bentwood Boxes review by James Dalton

Dec 2021

UV Resin Jewellery Making and Mixed Media at Home


I really enjoyed this class. So simple to grasp and so many possibilities to explore. Thank you Caroline, I can’t wait to explore resin further.

UV Resin Jewellery Making and Mixed Media at Home review by James Dalton

Dec 2021

Candle Making class


Another wonderful class with Shiree from Candle Warehouse. I was unable to make the class along with another person and Shiree kindly made a catch up video just for us. Truely above and beyond.
The quality of the products and the scents are amazing. I’m so impressed with the finished products. Shiree’s instruction was perfect.

Candle Making workshop review by James Dalton Sydney

Jan 2022

Japanese Kintsugi Workshop


Daisy was amazing. So friendly and knowledgeable and the class was such a joy to attend. I just want to break things so I have an excuse to Kintsugi them.

Be sure to buy some of Daisy’s ceramics to repair as they’re so beautiful and really add to the experience. I’m so glad I did.

Pottery workshop review by Salty Bunny

Feb 2022

Learn Resin Art Casting at Home


Good class. Very informative, fun. Definitely recommend buying the pack that comes with it, but I’d suggest getting your own moulds, like rings, as the ones the kit comes with are just basic shapes. Great beginner class for anyone.

Fluid Art workshop review by James Dalton Sydney

Feb 2022

Jewellery Workshop: Wax to Sterling Silver


Such a wonderful class. Laura is so knowledgeable and we felt right at home. She supplied us with amazing food and drinks and the small class size made it all the more enjoyable.

Check out her website and book from there so you can directly support Laura.

Jewellery Workshop: Wax to Sterling Silver review by James Dalton

Apr 2022

Paint Watercolour Christmas Cards


BUYER BEWARE! Rebel Stepz does not use accurate photo descriptions of their classes. I signed up for a watercolour painting class for adults which showed an acceptable level of expected artwork for a beginner adult in all of the photos. Within the first 20 minutes of the class the teacher had produced her first artwork which was at a level well below that of an adult. There was no watercolour painting tuition whatsoever. It was more of a "just slap paint on here, no need to stay in the lines" I'm saddened that I cannot post a photo review for this class as I do have comparison photos. I did send these photos and explanation to Class Bento. After months of chasing them up, they refused to refund my money because I didn't stay for the entire class. I left after the first artwork was finished and knew I could not get any benefit from the class. Disappointed in Class Bento for refusing a refund and saying that it was up to Rebel Stepz to approve it for them.

Apr 2022

Painting class


BUYER BEWARE - Rebel Stepz does not use accurate pictures to describe the class they are offering. Marketed towards adults, but content is suitable for primary school children.

I asked Class Bento for a refund based on this, and provided undeniable photographic evidence of such.
Class Bento replied "We have had a conversation with the teacher and they are at this point not willing to provide you with a refund as you had only attended for a short time. The other participants from the same class had said that they did feel like the class expectations were set appropriately through the description of the workshop."

There were two other participants. One left at the 10 minute mark. I left at the 20 minute mark after the teacher had completed her first artwork.

Apr 2022

Soy Wax Candle Making Set in a Japanese Ceramic


I missed the online class, but the kit was good quality and I’m very happy with the finished product

Soy Wax Candle Making Set in a Japanese Ceramic review by James Dalton Sydney

Apr 2022

Make Hand Painted Planters


Packet arrived in the mail quickly enough. However, the teacher never got back to me about attending the online class.

Painting workshop review by James Dalton

Apr 2022

Paper Craft and Ink class


I loves this class. It was so simple to follow along with. I’ve since done more classes but booked directly with the artist

Learn Bookbinding for Beginners review by James Dalton

Apr 2022

Jewellery Making class


I attended two of the classes and decided not to attend the remaining classes. I missed the start of the first classes due to my box not arriving on time. I contacted teacher, covid was used as an excuse, no apology. Fair enough. I asked for tracking number and when I received the number it had only been lodged the day before. This was two weeks out form my order. I receive my order and it's missing half. Contact teacher again. No apology, states that covid delays were to blame. Didn't feel the need to advise me that I was missing half of my order. Finally attend first class after waiting 20 minutes for the teacher to log in. Had tried phoning her, no answer. She gets into the session and makes an excuse of she forgot. She is clearly disinterested and put out that she is having to be there. Second class, again she has not logged in, try calling, tried emailing, no response. An hour later I get an email saying "I've been locked out of my apartment, it's not my fault" Her lack of communication and her disinterest was enough to turn me off. I asked for the remainder of my things to be sent and never returned. This happened in 2021, things may have changed since then. I hope they have.


Reply from this teacher:

Hi James,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your classes and apologise for the issues, last year when you first booked your classes there were a lot of supply shortages due to COVID.
I would like to apologise again and have organised to have half the original fee refunded through ClassBento.

Take care
Masterful makers

Apr 2022

Metal Stamping for Beginners 1


I attended two of the classes and decided not to attend the remaining classes. I missed the start of the first classes due to my box not arriving on time. I contacted teacher, covid was used as an excuse, no apology. Fair enough. I asked for tracking number and when I received the number it had only been lodged the day before. This was two weeks out form my order. I receive my order and it's missing half. Contact teacher again. No apology, states that covid delays were to blame. Didn't feel the need to advise me that I was missing half of my order. Finally attend first class after waiting 20 minutes for the teacher to log in. Had tried phoning her, no answer. She gets into the session and makes an excuse of she forgot. She is clearly disinterested and put out that she is having to be there. Second class, again she has not logged in, try calling, tried emailing, no response. An hour later I get an email saying "I've been locked out of my apartment, it's not my fault" Her lack of communication and her disinterest was enough to turn me off. I asked for the remainder of my things to be sent and never returned. This happened in 2021, things may have changed since then. I hope they have.
V48I01Z33L 34c052b7f77f35dccea660a6ce51910d production AU sydney