Wen-Chen's reviews


Nov 2021

Turkish Mosaic Lamp Workshop


The materials were beautifully presented, the teacher was patient, helpful and pointed out handy tips to make our mosaic lamps turn out the best they can possibly be. I thoroughly enjoyed making my lamp and it sits proudly beside my bed. Tea and biscuits provided. Please note your hands will become sticky.

Turkish Mosaic Lamp Workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia

Nov 2021

Paint and Sip Class: the Starry Night


Great class, friendly and enthusiastic teacher. Guided us through the painting step by step so that something as intimidating as Van Gogh’s starry night seemed doable. Surprised myself with how well it turned out. One word of warning my Saturday night class was full of couples, so probably best to bring someone with you.

Painting workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia Sydney

Nov 2021

Cooking class


Real jolly atmosphere and all hands on deck to make a wonderful Christmasy French meal. Really enjoyed it

Cooking workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia

Dec 2021

Tipsy Terrarium Workshop: Make and Sip


Bubbly enthusiastic and cheerful teacher, had a fantastic time. Wine, drinks and snacking board provided.

Tipsy Terrarium Workshop: Make and Sip review by Wen-Chen Xia

Dec 2021

Cooking class


Great atmosphere, lovely teachers Wendy and Nicki, we made so many dishes and everyone enjoyed the preparing cooking and eating. Fabulous time.

Christmas Cooking Class review by Wen-Chen Xia Sydney

Dec 2021

Mexican Cooking Class


I arrived early and was told to take a walk around the neighbourhood and come back which I wasn’t particularly partial to. But the class was excellent, we made tortillas from scratch, amazing chopping cooking flipping tortillas, really tasty food and there was plenty to take home too. They had containers and bags ready for us. Overall positive experience.

Cooking workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia

Jan 2022

Thai Cooking Class


This is my second Otao kitchen cooking class. I was amazed that something I cooked with my own hands could taste this good. We made corn fritters, green papaya salad and either red duck curry or green chicken curry, the flavours and taste were a great surprise, exceeding my expectations. The Brut sparkling was great and teachers very knowledgeable and friendly. Booked more classes.

Cooking workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia

Jan 2022

Japanese Cooking Class


It was a good class but I just found that the food wasn’t as tasty as the Mexican or Thai cooking class.

Japanese Cooking Class review by Wen-Chen Xia Sydney

Jan 2022

Jewellery Making class


Hee Cho was a great host and we had a lovely time designing and creating our own rings. Would definitely recommend.

Gold or Silver Art Ring Workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia

Jan 2022

Dumpling Discovery Walking Tour


Monique was lovely and I had a fabulous time. There was a cozy 8 of us in the group and we tried four different dumplings from four different restaurants. There was history about Melbourne’s beginnings and lots of info on dumplings and the parts of China each variety was from. Thoroughly recommend.

Dumpling Discovery Walking Tour review by Wen-Chen Xia

Jan 2022

Foodie Discovery Walking Tour


From coffees to gelato, banh mi’s to green ant chocolate, it was a real treat to go on this tour with Melinda as our guide. Lots of stories and history along the way, highly recommended, thoroughly enjoyable.

Foodie Discovery Walking Tour review by Wen-Chen Xia

Jan 2022

Paint and Sip Class: Vase with Irises by Van Gogh


Really soothing and enjoyable experience. Truly magical the way Van Gogh’s masterpiece can come alive under my own brushstrokes. Many thanks to the teacher. Will book more classes.

Painting workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia Sydney

Jan 2022

Mexican Cooking Class: Frida Fiesta


After getting all the ingredients from South Melbourne market, We made margaritas and sangria to start. The alcohol was strong and really kicked into gear the cooking class. We made guacamole, salsa, tortillas and we enjoyed tacos. Everyone had a good time. Lola was lively and passionate.

Cooking workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia

Jan 2022

Paella and Sangria Cooking Class


A visit to South Melbourne market followed by sangria and paella. After many a sangria, everything seemed better. The class really benefits from its close proximity to South Melbourne market, fresh seafood, saffron, veggies and fruits. It was a merry affair. Lola is very energetic and charismatic.

Cooking workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia

Feb 2022

Cooking class


Wendy was brilliant, it’s a wonder how she can multitask and keep tabs on everyone as we all had different recipes to follow. We worked in pairs and made an amazingly tasty duck feast which we shared together with a glass of wine. I’m coming back to do their other classes.

Cooking workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia

Feb 2022

Paint and Sip Class in the Park


There were about 30 of us in the class sitting outside in the breezy afternoon shade. Ali the teacher was very attentive and helpful and moved me into a shadier area when the sun passed me by overhead. Easy instructions to follow and an all around great time.

Paint and Sip Class in the Park review by Wen-Chen Xia

Feb 2022

Floristry Workshop with Champagne and High Tea


From the pastel gelato colours of the flowers to the bubbly Moët and the assortment of cheesecake, brownie, lemon tart and sandwiches, it was so deliciously fun. Jemina is a great teacher and I had a great time. Good value too!

Floristry workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia

Feb 2022

Peruvian Cooking Class


A visit to South Melbourne market where Lola knows everyone and everyone knows Lola followed by pisco sour, kingfish ceviche and some dishes I can’t pronounce nor remember. Stimulating for the tastebuds and good times to be had.

Cooking workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia

Feb 2022

Cooking class


Such a vibrant array of flavours, travelling may be hard to do at the moment but you can definitely send your tastebuds on a journey. We made a beautiful fragrant paste and also a peanut sauce that created dishes like rendang beef, satay chicken skewers, banana leaf rockling and a traditional salad dish which were all very tasty. First time using the hibachi grill also. Highly recommend, Dylan was brilliant as always.

Indonesian Balinese Cooking Class review by Wen-Chen Xia Sydney

Feb 2022

Native Australian Cooking Class


Fresh damper with a cream/goat cheese and native pesto dip, kingfish marinated in native herbs and spices and tender kangaroo loin with assorted veggies, very appetising and delicious. You’re in for a treat!

Cooking workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia

Mar 2022

Cooking class


If you ever have a hankering for duck then you’ve gotta come to a luv-a-duck cooking class. Wendy is just brilliant and the recipes easy to follow and easy to replicate at home too. You end up with a feast for the eyes and the stomach. Incredible value!

Cooking workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia

Mar 2022

Tea Blending Class


It was a very easy going and informative class. Apart from possessing great knowledge on tea, Ryan makes everyone feel welcome and at ease. We tasted a range of teas and then made our own tea blends. Great variety of tea ingredients to choose from and some quirky tea trivia to keep you thinking.

Tea Blending Class review by Wen-Chen Xia Sydney

Mar 2022

Food and Drink Tasting experience


Penny the organiser and Olga the sommelier were so friendly and lovely. Wines plentiful, cheese not so much which was the only let down. Each board was shared between two people. Very interesting and informative without being dull. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Wine and Cheese Pairing Experience - Sunday Session review by Wen-Chen Xia Sydney

Mar 2022

Gin Making Masterclass


Liz was excellent at explaining the details of gin making and walked through the process with a bunch of minds as inquisitive as ours. Cheeseboard provided and many tastings of gin and vodka varieties. Fascinating stuff and highly recommended.

Food and Drink Tasting workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia Sydney

Mar 2022

Kokedama Workshop: Make and Sip


There was a last minute reschedule but I love plants and it didn’t take away from the joy of making my kokedama babies. Drinks and cheeseboard provided. Excellent technique and instructions were given. I really love the two plants I’m taking home.

Kokedama workshop review by Wen-Chen Xia

Mar 2022

Floristry Workshop: Fancy Fishbowl


Jem is so lovely and nice and generous, such a wonderful host. We all had a glass of bubbly because it was someone’s birthday and on top of that, we were each given three stems of Gloriosa Lilies. These were something special alright. I had seen them before at the Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show and they had captivated my attention then. Fabulously indulgent.

Floristry Workshop: Fancy Fishbowl review by Anna Xia

Mar 2022

Make a Manifestation Necklace


Victoria was very nice over zoom and answered all my questions. However the class first had to be rescheduled because the package didn’t arrive, no thanks to Australia post, and then due to technical difficulties the 10am class was shifted to 12pm which was inconvenient because I had a painting class to get to afterwards.

Jewellery Making workshop review by Anna Xia Sydney

Mar 2022

Candle Making Workshop


Souade was very knowledgeable and knew just what to add to your scent to elevate it to another level. It was an adventure for the senses trying out all the different fragrances, absolute bliss and joy for the nostrils, mind and soul dare I say. You come away with your signature scented candle. Smells like heaven. Just so wonderful.

Candle Making Workshop review by Anna Xia

Mar 2022

Perfume Making Workshop


I chose the same fragrances I used for the morning candle making class because I love it so much. After trying some of the more citrusy scents like orange top and pamplamer which is derived from a sweet pomelo blend I learned, I might attempt a citrus tone for the solid perfume class next weekend. But then again I don’t want to end up smelling like a kitchen antibacterial spray? Bring on the romance, imagination and creativity of the next perfume class!

Perfume Making workshop review by Anna Xia

Mar 2022

Italian Cooking Class: Cooking with Passion


The class is from 8:45am in the morning to 3ish in the afternoon just in case you were wondering. We made pasta and focaccia from scratch. Porcini mushroom risotto with the leftovers made into arancini, there was a roasted capsicum salsa to go with the focaccia, we had stuffed figs as an entree as well. Finishing off with affogato with homemade vanilla ice cream and panacotta. Tonya and Joan were lovely and joyful. There were 5 participants in total and we all had a lovely time.

Italian Cooking Class: Cooking with Passion review by Anna Xia

Apr 2022

Solid Perfume Making Workshop


Yen, one of the founders of Metascent, guided us through the class today. I created a citrusy herbal scent that was very calming and soothing. There was enough solid perfume to fill an extra lip balm container. They know just what to add to balance and enhance the fragrance you’ve made. Very enjoyable.

Solid Perfume Making Workshop review by Anna Xia Sydney

Apr 2022

Chocolate Making Workshop


I’d have to agree the room might be a tight squeeze but you can overlook all that because Gabi and Pearly are just so gracious and generous apart from being very knowledgeable on the topic. Super fun time and so so much chocolate to take home.

Chocolate Making Workshop review by Anna Xia Sydney

Apr 2022

DIY Vegan Beauty Workshop


Lily is French and knows all the ins and outs of natural skincare ingredients from essential oils to clays. We made a skin mask and got to take home 3 full size skincare products from her organic skincare range.

DIY Vegan Beauty Workshop review by Anna Xia

Apr 2022

Premium Gin Masterclass and Tasting


Little Lon is a charming cottage distillery, the only one in the CBD. The class goes through a variety of curious characters from its rich and colourful past that each gin is named after. So fun and enjoyable. Snacking board provided with lots of gin and tonics. You’re sure to have a good time.

Premium Gin Masterclass and Tasting review by Anna Xia

Apr 2022

Body and Soul class


Please note the add-ons are incorporated into the 6 weeks of powerpoints and worksheets. There's no more sessions after the initial 6 even though you purchased the add-ons. A whole lot of rescheduling. Death by powerpoint. Very underwhelming material. There's worksheets for each week and lots of healthy meal recipes if you're into that sort of thing. She did give me this extra eat your greens class delivered through an app but it wasn't groundbreaking or anything.

The Art of Aging for Women review by Anna Xia

May 2022

Pasta Making Class: All About Ravioli


Marina is a lovely person welcoming us to her home and making pasta, ravioli, tortellini. She is a great teacher and the table settings were beautiful

Pasta Making Class: All About Ravioli review by Anna  Sydney

May 2022

Cooking class


Another fabulous class with Luv-a-duck, I had a ball. Wendy and Mark are wonderful. You make a feast with your very own hands and it’s a thoroughly enjoyable experience both the cooking and eating. Thank you!

Asian Inspired Duck Cooking Class review by Anna Xia

May 2022

Melt and Pour Soap Making Workshop


So many choices so little time. From oxides and clays as colourants to essential oils and vegetable/nut oils to exfoliants, Lily was very knowledgeable and thorough with the notes provided and instructions given. Will be coming back for more classes. Thank you!

Melt and Pour Soap Making Workshop review by Anna Xia Sydney

Jun 2022

Natural Vegan Perfume Making Workshop


Another great class by Lily who is the foremost source on beauty and skincare products. We made three perfumes, a balm, a roll on and a spray, selecting a variety of different essential oils to go into each one. So much fun trying different fragrances and playing with pipettes and scales. Looking forward to the next class!

Perfume Making workshop review by Anna Xia Sydney

Jun 2022

Argentinian Street Food Cooking Class


Lola is so enthusiastic and charming. I love coming to her classes because you know you’re going to be fed well and promised a fun time cooking and enjoying her quirks and stories. We always go to the South Melbourne market first to collect all the ingredients. Then we made mini chorizo sandwiches, beef ribs, chimichurri, chocolate torte and sangria. Would come back again. Thank you!

Cooking workshop review by Anna Xia

Jun 2022

Makeup Workshop


Shaz was very personable and knowledgeable and let us try all the expensive make up products she brought with her. She correctly matched the colour of foundation for our complexions and had a lot of recommendations on which products work. We learnt how to do smoky eyes and glamour eyes which was not suitable for smaller eyes we learnt. I had a good time.

Makeup Workshop review by Anna Xia Sydney

Jun 2022

Hairstyling Workshop


Divyani was our teacher and is also the founder of Dash finishing school. She was so lovely and helpful to each and every one of us in her class. From donut buns to French braids to fishtails to curling and straightening your hair, she covered it all. Differences between hairspray and hair lacquer, volumising spray, dry shampoo, recommendations for products. A great way to spend the weekend.

Hairstyling Workshop review by Anna Xia Sydney

Jun 2022

Pasta Course: Pasta Journey Through Italy


Marina is so lovely and welcoming. We are invited to her home to prepare the most incredible pasta from tagliatelle to ravioli to tortellini. From spinach and ricotta to roast mushrooms and ricotta to pork beef mortadella prosciutto Parmesan fillings. The pasta is then cooked in simple but delicious sauces, think brown butter and sage, cream and Parmesan, pork and peas. Afterwards, we sit together for lunch and feast on our hard work. Fabulous way to spend the weekend. In addition, I had to reschedule last minute one time and Marina couldn’t have been more understanding. Thank you!

Cooking workshop review by Anna Xia

Jul 2022

Cooking class


Wendy was brilliant as always. She keeps an eye on all the different recipes distributed amongst us and all the dishes turned out delicious. Mark was wonderful as well making sure we had clean chopping boards and equipment to cook with. The best part is sipping wine and enjoying the feast together at the end. Amazing!

Christmas in July Cooking Class review by Anna Xia

Jul 2022

Healthy Cooking Class: Cook Real Low Carb Food


Tonya was very hospitable and inviting. A cozy 3 participants today cooking at her home by the bay. We had some cheese, walnuts and grapes to begin with. Then we made egg and chive mayonnaise with caviar, seed crackers and roasted beetroot, cinnamon and pomegranate dip. The main was a French chicken dish made with onions, leeks, mushrooms and apples. Served with garlic and parsley butter and vegetables on the side. For dessert we had chocolate bark with an orange salad. All enjoyed with a glass of vino and views of the Marina and sea. Happy times.

Cooking workshop review by Anna Xia

Jul 2022

Paint and Sip Class: Van Gogh's Red Poppies


This is my third class with Emma and the third class of Van Gogh. It was a full class with many people sharing the classroom space including a very quiet 6 week old baby. People brought wine nibbles and snacks and everyone enjoyed themselves. Like Emma says, just be nice to yourself, believe in yourself, inflate that ego and you’re sure to create something you can be proud of.

Paint and Sip Class: Van Gogh's Red Poppies review by Anna Xia

Jul 2022

Cooking class


We had 5 courses plus a morning tea roast duck, each course was matched to beautiful drops of brown brothers wine. Wendy was brilliant as always ensuring every class is a success and everyone enjoyed themselves. Each dish of duck was exquisite on the tastebuds, there was also a raspberry soufflé for dessert. Wonderful value for money, fabulously indulgent.

Cooking workshop review by Anna Xia

Jul 2022

Delicious Desserts Baking Class


Chef Lisa and Tracey are such gracious and kind people. We had a mini cheese platter to nibble on during class accompanied by some wine. We made buttercream frosting for chocolate cupcakes and meringue topping for white choc cupcakes. There was the inimitable made-from-scratch caramel matched with ice cream, mud cake, raspberry & biscuit crumble. Lemon curd, marshmallow, wagon wheels, the list goes on, lots of delicious snacks for the sweet tooth and lots to take home too.

Delicious Desserts Baking Class review by Anna Xia

Jul 2022

Southeast Asian Cooking Class: Cambodia to Sri Lanka


Tracey’s expertise on southeast Asian cooking and friendly and kind ways make this class an enjoyable affair. We had a very hands on class making rice paper rolls, prawn and herb salad, beetroot curry with saffron rice and fish amok. Even more delicious having been created through our own hands. Will be back for more.

Cooking workshop review by Anna Xia Sydney

Jul 2022

Chocolate Bar Making Workshop


Arno is a very experienced master chocolatier and the venue is very Melbourne-esque situated in a laneway with milk crates for seats. We had a hot chocolate to begin with and many morsels of delicious varieties of high quality chocolate. We then tempered some chocolate to pour into our chocolate bar moulds decorating with ganache(which he showed us how to make) candied orange, mandarin, sultanas, hazelnuts among other things. Time well spent.

Baking and Desserts workshop review by Anna Xia Sydney

Jul 2022

Artisan Chocolate and Wine Tasting Kit


Fast dispatch and delivery. Beautifully presented with four booklets and placemats to set the scene for a magical wine and chocolate tasting experience. I will savour every drop. Thank you!

Artisan Chocolate and Wine Tasting Kit review by Anna Xia

Jul 2022

Cooking class


6 courses of delectable duck dishes matched with beautiful drops of wine from Prosecco to Shiraz. Wendy is just the perfect host and head chef, making sure we all enjoyed cooking and dining on our hard work. It was a feast for the senses and I can’t wait to come back for more. Thank you!

Duck Cooking Class with Brown Brothers Wine Pairing review by Anna Xia

Aug 2022

DIY Gin Tasting Kit for Four


I got the full set of gins but not the information pamphlets which is a shame. Thanks anyways. Will appreciate the gins one sip at a time.

DIY Gin Tasting Kit for Four review by Anna Xia

Aug 2022

DIY Chocolate Tasting Kit


The chocolate was duly delivered in great condition and with lots of information including the link to the online class which I will watch soon. In the meanwhile I’ll definitely enjoy the many varieties of chocolate. Love it. Thanks

Baking and Desserts workshop review by Anna Xia Sydney

Aug 2022

Organic Haircare Essentials DIY Beauty Workshop


Another fun class by Lily who is the quintessential organic beauty expert. We made a solid shampoo, an Argan oil serum and a cream hair conditioner. It was wonderful to create these natural organic Haircare products under Lily’s expert guidance. There was some elbow grease required for the conditioner as the jojoba oil had to emulsify with water but overall it was a pleasant experience. Will be coming back for more classes.

Skincare and Haircare workshop review by Anna Xia
V48I01Z33L 34c052b7f77f35dccea660a6ce51910d production AU sydney